Blessed by the SYP Apple Santa

In five years of working for myself, not once has a client recognized or thanked me for my services at the holidays – and, frankly, rightly so as it’s my job to thank clients for their business. So imagine my surprise and delight today when I received not only a client’s holiday thank-you card, but a $150 Apple store gift card tucked inside. I never even received holiday recognition of this magnitude back when I was a full-time employee – of *any* company. I was so overwhelmed, I literally started to cry.

Working for oneself is sometimes a struggle – for a lot of reasons, one being that there’s rarely any feedback or expressed appreciation. While being a project worker brings a great deal of freedom and flexibility – which I LOVE…and having experienced that, I’d never work any other way – you sometimes feel like a commodity (or even a prostitute, in the worst client situations). And as much as I hate formal performance reviews because they’re for the most part tedious drivel and primarily for HR documentation, it reigns true that awards, promotions, and bonuses give you some idea that you’re appreciated and valued. I have to assume I’m doing good work when I a) get paid (and on time, at that), b) get hired by a client more than once, and/or c) receive word-of-mouth referrals.

So SYP, you might just be the most awesome client in the world. And MKR, I have YOU to thank for that. 🙂 My gratitude overfloweth.

P.S. Don’t miss the holiday video greeting SYP posted on their website…always a creative, inspiring endeavor every year.

P.P.S. Interestingly, this popped up while I was reading headlines on MSNBC after I published this post. That last section about us self-employed writers – that’s my world. And all those “many more skills in order to be successful”? Part of why – as rewarding as self-employment is – it is also so uncertain, terrifying, challenging, and tiring. Making a token of appreciation that much sweeter. 🙂

One response to “Blessed by the SYP Apple Santa

  1. =)
    hope this means more overlap in our professional worlds this year, too.

Leave a Reply

