Why I do what I do

For whatever reason, I feel the need to elaborate on what drives me to write, but I’m honestly so tapped out from penning my holiday letter that I’m going to let my musical soulmate, Alanis, explain it. (I swear, I hope I get to meet her someday because I think we’ll talk non-stop for like 72 hours). These are her words in describing what motivated her to write her song, “Everything” and it also applies to how I feel when I’m writing – especially the more emotional, depth-probing pieces I’ve been churning out in various forums over the past few years.

Just in case you wondered.

“I think my aspiration has really been about being as transparent as I possibly could be. The more visible I am – whether it’s about my finances or about my emotional world or my spiritual beliefs or my vulnerabilities or my empowered moments, frankly – the more peaceful I’ve become. There’s less to hide. I feel like there’s so much energy that goes into hiding and secrecy. I certainly still believe in privacy in moments, but there’s a big difference between privacy and secrecy. Secrecy is like fear and trying to hide from each other and feeling separate. Being transparent and non-secretive is really a courageous act – it’s a loving act. It also relates us to each other because I feel like if we were all ready to put everything out on the table, we’d be really shocked to see the thread of continuity that connects us all.”

Leave a Reply

