Two Chicks strike out on their own

OK, I admit it – I’m quite the Dixie Chicks fan. I know that shocks all of you who think my allegiances lie only with grunge gods Pearl Jam, Nirvana, and Soundgarden (or, along those lines, any bands involving Stone Gossard, Dave Grohl, or Chris Cornell), but there’s a little country in there with my rock-n-roll. So imagine my complete, utter, and total delight when I learned that two of the Chicks – sisters Martie Maguire and Emily Robison – started a band of their own, Court Yard Hounds. Their first single, “The Coast,” is beyond lovely….and is serving as my theme song for the Palm Springs solitary sojourn that begins tomorrow. Even if I’m off to The Desert instead of The Coast…the sentiment’s the same.

Enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

