It’s all about hard work and nothing but hard work

Thanks to Jules for sending me this awesome NYT interview with Carol Smith, SVP and chief brand officer at the Elle Group in NYC. People often ask me how I got into this weird niche of internal communications and how I succeed at running my own business, and whether this was my lifelong dream, yada yada. I will say this – all I ever knew was that I wanted to be a writer. No, I don’t write what really “makes my soul sing” to put food on my table. I make time to do that on the side because it’s important to me, however at this point, it doesn’t afford me the lifestyle or the freedom I want. But as Carol notes below, work brings success and money and freedom – and then more success and money and freedom. Take note, kids: the key word here is WORK.

Q. Looking back, do you feel there was a moment or experience that set your career on a different trajectory?

A. I started working at 16. I worked all through college. Work brought me success and money and freedom, and then more success and more money and more freedom.

I failed a few times. I failed to get into the college of my choice. I failed to get into law school. And they were big failures for me, but I found the more I worked, the better I did, without ever having a goal. I didn’t have a goal. I wanted to be a lawyer and I didn’t get to be a lawyer, but all of a sudden I woke up one day and I was in publishing, and I knew what I was doing.

As I look back, I think that sometimes you can’t have the five-year plan for yourself. If you’re doing something well, you tend to keep doing it. That’s how you fall into careers.

One response to “It’s all about hard work and nothing but hard work

  1. Makes so much sense. Believe me, it’s not like I ever planned to “scrub toilets for a living”, but the next thing you know, I have this company and these employees and…wait for it…some money, some success and some freedom.

Leave a Reply

