Artsy schmartsy love

I am all about hunting down up-and-coming artists as I search to fill my new home with unique pieces that really speak to me. I’ve had lots of luck in this mission at Venue in Ballard and, courtesy of Caffe Fiore, I recently discovered the incredible encaustic paintings of Kari Young.

Two words: Must. Have. Possibly this one in particular:

kariyoung

Along these lines, the lovely Michelle Roach turned me on to THE THING – a quarterly object-based publication. In the words of the founders:

“Each issue of THE THING is conceived of by an individual artist, reproduced and wrapped by the editors Jonn Hershend and Will Rogan and sent to the subscribers.”

This is one of my favorites – “beermats” (aka…coasters):

thingcoasters

Seriously, each issue of THE THING is like commissioning an incomparable conversation piece for your home. Check it, get it, love it.

Leave a Reply

